Metallica has unleashed the heavy, driving title track to their upcoming studio album 72 Seasons.

Embedded below, this is the fourth track preview to 72 Seasons following “If Darkness Had a Son,” “Screaming Suicide” and “Lux Æterna.”

The new track “72 Seasons” is available for streaming and download here.


72 Seasons comes out on April 14. It’s available for pre-save here, while physical copies are available for pre-order at The LP will contain 12 tracks and clocks in at over 77 minutes. A full tracklisting is below.

In a statement on the album’s title, Hetfield said, “72 seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told ‘who we are’ by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are. I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry.”

Metallica – 72 Seasons – Tracklist

  1. 72 Seasons
  2. Shadows Follow
  3. Screaming Suicide
  4. Sleepwalk My Life Away
  5. You Must Burn!
  6. Lux Æterna
  7. Crown of Barbed Wire
  8. Chasing Light
  9. If Darkness Had a Son
  10. Too Far Gone?
  11. Room of Mirrors
  12. Inamorata

Metallica: All Songs Ranked Worst to Best

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights