Jeff Zito

Weekday Afternoons 3pm - 7pm

MIAMI, FL - JANUARY 26: City of Miami police officer Robert Novo checks a shotgun that was turned in during a gun buy back event on January 26, 2013 in Miami, Florida. The event was the second one of the year in efforts to reduce gun violence, the first one brought in 130 guns. (Photo by Joe Raedle/Getty Images)

A Florida police officer is recovering after he was shot in the leg while conducting a traffic stop. The person who pulled the trigger? The Florida police officer.

The incident, which involved an officer with the Haines City Police Department, occurred at about 10 p.m. Sunday on US-27, authorities say. After pulling over a suspicious vehicle, the officer and its occupants got into a “verbal altercation,” a spokesman says. Somehow, the officer’s gun went off during the spat, shooting him in the leg, according to a Twitter post by the department.

Although the officer’s injury was severe enough to warrant he be airlifted to a nearby hospital, he’s reportedly “doing OK,” per the department. Three people who were inside the vehicle he stopped have been taken into custody, police say.

7 Things To Know About Florida's New Noise in Cars Law

You might not have even known it was getting voted on. It has. It passed. The governor signed off on it. And it went into effect immediately. Channel 8 reports that House Bill 1435 means if you have our station cranked up too loud, you could be breaking the new law. Sorry.

We’re not going to stop playing the music you wanna turn up anytime soon so let’s help you avoid a ticket. Here are the 7 big things to know about House Bill 1435 that was voted on last month… even though most Floridians probably never heard of it. The law “prohibits excessive noise emanating from a motor vehicle.”

  • #1: The 25 feet rule.

    If someone 25 feet away can hear the music you have cranked up, you could get cited.

  • #2: Quiet zones.

    This law is specific to areas near homes, churches, schools and hospitals.

  • #3: Exemptions.

    If you’re a cop, fire truck or ambulance driver, you’re off the hook.

  • #4: Even if you're moving...

    It’s considered a nonmoving violation so your insurance rates won’t go up.

  • #5: It's not just music.

    They say even cell phone conversations could count just like a car radio, tape player, or compact disc player. Wait. Tape player? What year is this!?

  • #6: Enforcement begins soon.

    Looks like some agencies are ready to enforce… Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office says they’re starting July 1.

  • #7: This law was done away with years ago.

    A decade ago this law was deemed unconstitutional by the Florida Supreme Court.  Will this bring on a new lawsuit? Time will tell.